Things of Value – March 9, 2015

What’s up!

Hna Rosas went to Malacatan and Hermana Oporta is my new companion! She’s from Nicaragua and was the MTC companion of my daughter Hna Gaitán. She’s pretty chill and we are working hard to have success in our area. I told her in the change meeting “You’re going to kill me!” She laughed and joked “I’m going to do everything to make you super baggy!” I laughed in return, but this week I have seen that it’s totally true! Everytime she sees a helicopter or a plane she points to it and says BAGGY! She points out families and temples and says SOON. It’s all in good humor, so I go along with it.

My new and last companion Hermana Oporta! Geez my arm looks huge

My new and last companion Hermana Oporta! Geez my arm looks huge

A couple weeks ago we contacted a referral named Sheny with a member, and she was kinda positive but didn’t commit to go to church. We went back a couple days ago and found her husband, Gerardo. He is the most receptive person I have ever met! He said he was going to an Aventist church because they invited him, but they haven’t been baptized. He heartily accepted to go to church with us, but said Sheny wouldn’t go because she works on Sunday. As we were waiting in the sacrament meeting, we saw both Gerardo and Sheny enter the church gates! We had no idea they would go together, but it made it all the better! They are great and have many questions. They almost accepted a baptismal date for the 21st! Woo.

As I think about the most precious things I’ve gained in the mission, one thing always comes to mind  – my relationship with Christ.

I was reading the Liahona a week ago and found a quote by Elder D. Todd Christofferson that I really related to,

“I came to know my Savior and my Heavenly Father in a way and to a degree that might not have happened otherwise or that might have taken me much longer to achieve.”

This is the exact feeling I have toward my service as a full-time missionary. The relationship I have with my Savior is so valuable to me, and was only developed because I decided to follow a prompting of the Holy Ghost and trust in the divine plan of my Father. He knows whats best for me and my eternal progression.

I’m not baggy, but I have 5 weeks left!

Hermana Page

Leave a Reply

