Humble Valleys – December 15, 2015

Good Afternoon ya’ll, I’m Hermana Page and I’m gonna be in the same area for 6 months…

To be honest I was pretty disappointed not to leave, but the Lord has other plans for me and my companion. We are still together (for better or for worse, ha) and we are both learning tons! Our district leader had changes, and Hermana Parker went home, so the dynamic of our district has changed quite a bit. We are all hoping to improve as we undertake the month of December with the new video “He is the Gift”, or in Spanish, “Ël es la Dádiva”. Part of this awesome project is handing out milliones of tarjetitas (sorry, I don’t know the English translation), putting together ward Christmas activities, and working more with the members! We hope to see many fruits of this wonderful Spirit-filled season. CHRISTMAS IS GREAT!

Since many of the Sister Training Leaders left this past transfer, they appointed me as leader of Tecún Umán and Pajapita. I don’t really know what I’ll be doing but I hope to be told something soon.

I was thinking about the struggles and trials that I’ve had while training and being here in Ayutla, and wondering what I could learn from it all. An elder shared a quote with me that really rang true, “Mountaintops are for views and inspiration, but fruit is grown in the valleys.” I feel like my time in Pajapita and the first few months with Hna Cárcamo were the mountaintops I experienced, and now I’m in the valley. Now I realize that being in a valley isn’t bad as long as I recognize the fruit being grown there. I just need to be humble and let the Farmer work!

Its so weird to read your journal entries from the past and view them as if someone else had written them. I know I’ve changed a lot in the mission, but its SHOCKING to see the difference in writing, and to really notice how the Lord has shaped me to be the person He wants me to be. I still have a long way to go with the many, many flaws I have, but I can be guided by Him if I’m humble to accept correction and trust in His ways. How grateful I am for the Atonement and the ability to change! Jesus Christ, the Son of the Living God, is the Gift!

Love,

Hermana Page

Today's p-day - Everyone made food from their own country!

Today’s p-day – Everyone made food from their own country!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

Sharing the Gift with Maria.

Hermana Page

Leave a Reply

