Thanks-eating – December 1, 2014

Happy Thanksgiving! You can be sure we didn’t celebrate it like ya’ll in the States, but it was definitely celebrated!

Hermana Parker had the idea that we could buy a bunch of Guatemalan food and pig out… so that’s what we did! We had crazy corn (corn with ketchup, hot sauce, and mayonnaise), quesadillas, pupusas, magdalena, bread, and ice cream! Yes, we all woke up with mad boo but who cares? IT’S THANKSGIVING YALL!!

Hna, Tumax - a minimisionera that was here for 2 weeks!  Thanksgiving party.

Hna, Tumax – a minimisionera that was here for 2 weeks! Thanksgiving party.

This week we have had a lot of learning experiences about true intent. The gift of discernment is REQUIRED to find out if people are really interested in the gospel, or if they really want to change their lives. A couple guys we had been teaching came to church and all, but they weren’t praying and don’t accept baptism. Although they are progressing in one sense, they aren’t showing God they really want to change. Prayer is essential! In my personal study a couple weeks ago, I noted the following, “Prayer is so crucially important to be able to receive the guidance of the Holy Ghost. Before my study, I began with a sincere prayer to have the Spirit guide me in my study and allow me to feel the DESIRE to know more. God answered and I have felt today the DESIRE to read the Book of Mormon and Preach my Gospel. I can tell the difference when I don’t start my personal study with a sincere prayer – I usually don’t focus as well or I keep looking at the clock. It’s my personal testimony that prayer is the only mode of communication that ties our will to be righteous, with the will or our Heavenly Father.”

Yep,

Hermana Page

Birthday caaaakkke!  (from a week ago)

Birthday caaaakkke! (from a week ago)

Temple photo from a while ago.

Temple photo from a while ago.

Photo of the Ocos Zone

Photo of the Ocos Zone

Leave a Reply

