That Catholic Godmother – Feb. 3, 2014

img_1102
Sometimes it’s hard to know what to write, because the weeks fly by in a blur.

The trio is still going – although sometimes its a little tough. Three personalities, three opinions, and three bodies to smash into a tuc-tuk. It’s different! Occasionally I feel like the only child that suddenly gained a sister. It’s not that I want more attention with mom, I just I feel a little neglected. I’m no longer being pushed enough to really get the most out of my training. But it’s okay, because it gives me the opportunity to step up and take a little more responsibility instead of just being a “newbie”. I have definitely grown a lot here, often by the refiners fire. I think that’s how the saying goes.

On a good note, Evelyn’s mom came to church and now WANTS to be baptized (whereas before she was pretty passive about everything religious). We met with her yesterday after church, and she told us that on Thursday, she had a “near-death” experience. She woke up in the middle of the night with sharp pains in her heart, unable to breathe. She told us she looked at her two sleeping kids, and knew it was just her and God. She pleaded for her life in prayer, and I guess she felt better after that because she’s still alive and well. So after having that experience, she said she wants her salvation before she dies. That led her to actively read the passage from the Book of Mormon we had given her (3 Nefi 11) and tell us that in the Book she would find all her answers. She said, “What do I need to do to be baptized?” We are going to try to meet with her more often, especially since she’s Guatemalan and has 10 minute monologues every time we try to say something. Guatemalans talk so much.

We also have a set of brothers getting baptized this Saturday, whose names are Jorge y Jonathan. They are 17 and 15 years old, but they are sooo pilas! With their honest desire to learn, they have progressed so much. After we taught the Word of Wisdom, they almost immediately gave up their coffee habits and started drinking pura agua only! They later commented, “I dont know what it is, but I just have more ENERGY now when I get out of bed!” Those are the exact blessings we recieve when we obey this commandment – read it over, youll see!
Right now the only thing impeding their baptism is the permission of their godmother. We even talked to their mom to sign the registro, but she won’t until the godmother allows it. Its weird, but we are praying for this die-hard Catholic godmother to have her heart softened and give her permision.

Sometimes I find myself dreaming of April 2015, and how far away it seems. I’m continually fighting to focus and really give myself to this work, and I’ve noticed it comes as I really focus on my investigators and begin to love them. Charity and selflessness I was not innately blessed with, but its something I’m working on.
Hermana Page
Leave a Reply

